A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Playing sardines

7 Comments

We went to the new craft show at the NEC today. I’d been sent complimentary tickets so it seemed rude not to 😉

We got there for opening at 10am which was lucky as had we gone later, we’d have had to wait for hours to get in. The show was in one of the smaller halls and was absolutely rammed with people. I’ve been to many shows there and I’ve never experienced crowds like that. You could barely move!

We left just after 11.30 and saw a massive queue waiting to get in. They’d stopped people from entering presumably because it was a health and safety issue with so many people crammed into such a small area. The queue wound almost back to the entrance and there were still people coming in. Apparently they’d sent out 5000 complimentary tickets plus there were loads of people who’d bought tickets.

I’m thinking that they’d seriously underestimated how popular the show would be.

Still, I did get the one thing that I’d really wanted to get.

slidelock1It’s called a Slidelock and I’m hoping that it’ll make it a lot easier for me to cut fabric. I still have problems with my shoulder so find it difficult to put enough pressure on a normal ruler when using the rotary cutter, so I end up with wonky cuts.

slidelock2I’ll let you know how I get on with this as I have fabric, all laid out ready for cutting, for Rosie’s quilt.

I got one or two other things as well. Stephen spotted this bag and persuaded me to get it. I’ve been after a messenger bag for a while but hadn’t found one that I really liked. This one has lots of pockets and compartments so it’ll be brilliant to take on holiday.

bagI got a jelly roll, which Stephen picked out.

jelly rollAnd two charm packs which I chose. I love all the colours!

charm packsThere were a few places that had quite a few cat-themed things and I was all over those. I got these which will be nice for making a small tote bag perhaps although Stephen has requested a cushion in one of them.

Cat fabrics 2I got these cat fabrics which I’m thinking will be nice for quilt backs. Most of the quilts I make are for the cats plus the fabrics were pretty.

Cat fabricsI spotted some gorgeous quilts and wall hangings on one stand and was tempted to buy a couple of kits to make them. I love this one. It’s quite small but is such a pretty design.

Lucky cats wallhangingThis one is larger and looks really fun.

Crazy cat quilt kitLastly, I visited the Black Sheep stand and dived into their yarn pile to grab this.

baby bambooI’ve no idea what I’m going to make with it yet, but I’ve been wanting to make something with bamboo for ages and it’s such a pretty colour.

So overall, I think it was worth going but they really need to sort out the overcrowding if they’re going to do it again next year.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

7 thoughts on “Playing sardines

  1. Birmingham NEC? Are you planning to go to the pet show there this November by any chance? 😀

    Like

  2. lots of lovely buys – those cat prints are yummy

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

