A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Dance on the beach CAL #10

4 Comments

 

I’ve finished my little catch up with the Stars blanket and have now got 36 squares for each blanket. Only 12 squares left to do for each now.

This one came out beautifully in the purple. I think the bobbles show up really well.

Week seven - Stars

Week seven – Stars

This is a gorgeous colour and I loved doing that stitch again.

Week eight - Stars

Week eight – Stars

Before, I’d abandoned the Rain blanket as I’d been struggling with getting the gauge right on week nine. This time I had no problems at all. I used the suggested hook size and it came out perfectly first time. I’ve no idea what the problem was last time, but these worked up so nicely and perfectly to gauge that I haven’t even blocked them.

Week nine - Rain

Week nine – Rain

Stars-wk9

Week nine – Stars

Week 10 is the latest one to give me problems. I started the first square and did about five rows. By this point I was really not enjoying myself. I can do the stitch, but I don’t want to. It’s fiddly and very time-consuming. I’m going to find a substitute and do that instead. It’s a shame not to do the pattern exactly how it was designed but I crochet for pleasure and relaxation. I like a challenge but not if it isn’t fun.

I do need to get a crack on with this one now, if I can do so without aggravating my thumb too much, as I’ve just signed up for another CAL. I couldn’t help myself. It’s so pretty! I’ll get some photos of the yarn and the design for my next post so you can see just why it has to be done 😉

 

 

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

4 thoughts on “Dance on the beach CAL #10

  1. oooh I love the royal blue ones – they look like blue waffles ^^

    Like

  2. Beautiful squares! Love the hearts. So pretty. Definitely crochet to relax. I look forward to seeing your replacement blocks.

    Like

    • Thanks. The hearts are lovely, one of my favourite blocks and so easy to do. The replacement blocks are coming on. I decided on a shell stitch as it goes with the beach theme, looks good and is quick and easy LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

