A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

Carousel CAL – part one

3 Comments

The first part of the Carousel CAL was released yesterday and I’m afraid I just couldn’t help myself. I’ve nowhere near finished the Last dance on the beach CALs but that gorgeous Batik yarn was calling to me. I was just going to put the colours needed into a bag with the printed instructions, but somehow I found myself doing the centre as it’s a technique that I hadn’t come across before, and once I’d started…

2016-09-13-22-06-46You can’t tell from the quick snap but there’s a bit of a 3D effect going on with the centre section. The popcorn stitch in the Indigo really pops and I love the Cherry centre. I’ll definitely use that technique again.

The Batik is lovely to work with and the colours are beautiful. Part one didn’t take long to do at all, although I’m thinking that the other parts look as if they’ll take a lot, lot longer. The next part is released in a week, and then it’s every two weeks, I think.

While I’m waiting for part two, I’ll try to get some more done to Last dance on the beach. Can’t neglect it with just 14 squares left before I can start joining them.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

3 thoughts on “Carousel CAL – part one

  1. I can see why you couldn’t refrain from starting this one. The yarns are lovely! I had no idea your CAL was going to look like this. LOVE it and can’t wait to see more. And now you have time to work on the other. I think you are doing awesome!

    Like

  2. This looks like such a fun CAL! Great job:)

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

