A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

CAL – Last dance on the beach #13

33 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs. As I’m struggling to find time to do any cross stitch, plus keep up with all the crochet that I’m doing, I’m going to use these posts for the Last Dance on the beach blankets. That’ll make sure that I finish them, and then I can get back to some stitching.

I haven’t made a lot of progress since the last SAL update. I managed to get the last red bobble square done, but it seemed to take ages as I was getting a bit bored with bobbles.stars-wk11a

Then I started the final week’s squares. I could tell straight away that they’d be slow going. Each row consists of groups of half-trebles alternating with groups of slip stitches, making very shallow rows. Also, all the stitches are worked into the back loop, which is slightly more time-consuming.

The first square got about half done and had to be frogged as it was too small. I went up a whole hook size and started a second square, which again turned out to be too small. I increased the hook size and started again but it still wasn’t right. By this time, not only had I spent hours with nothing to show for it, but I was already finding the squares tedious, with eight still to go.

I’d had enough of square twelve by this point so rummaged through the previous squares to see which ones I’d enjoyed the most. It was a toss-up between the basketweave and the corner to corner so I’m doing the Rain blanket in basketweave and I may switch to corner to corner for Stars.

Basketweave is fairly quick to do compared to some of the others but with so much time wasted messing about with the other square, I only found time to do one of them.rain-wk12a

Hopefully I can get at least the next three of these done for the next update.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

AvisClaireGunLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristinaSusan,
 Kathy MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherine,  Wendy

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

33 thoughts on “CAL – Last dance on the beach #13

  1. It’s good to have this SAL to help us get our projects done, isn’t it? It provides motivation to tackle those final blocks, stitches, or whatever. I wish you the best as you work to finish these up.

    Like

  2. To my fellow SAL-ers. Apologies for missing some of the links before. I think it’s because I cut and pasted them from the email and they didn’t automatically wrap. Corrected now.

    Like

  3. I do love the bobble square, but do understand how tedious it can be. Sorry you had so much trouble on the last square. I think the one you are substituting with is beautiful. You will get them done, don’t worry.

    Like

    • Thanks Ginny. I rather love the basket weave square as it feels all squishy and textured in your hand so I’m sure I’ll have no problems getting them finished.

      Like

  4. Your crocheting is beautiful. Sadly mine is sitting next to me being very quiet as I stitch. One of these days.

    Like

  5. I´m not really sure about the word frogging, but it doesn´t sound nice 🙂 I hope you still find crochet funny, cause the blocks look great!

    Like

  6. All the squares are lovely and if you tire of some of them, why not change a few? Your stitches look fab!

    Like

  7. I get tired of knitting bobbles. I love the look, but they are a little hard on the hands. You have had a frustrating time with #12, good idea to throw it out!!! These blankets will be amazing though…

    Like

  8. I absolutely hate having to frog and refrog things. So much time wasted and nothing to show for it. I’m glad you managed to get one square finish in the end.

    Like

  9. What great texture! I’ve never done any crochet but admire those who do!

    Like

  10. I like the bobbles ^^

    Like

  11. Gorgeous texture! Bobble stitch does seem to take forever to work

    Like

  12. You’re in the hardest part of the journey now, the finish. Well done for sticking with it!

    Like

  13. You must be almost finished now.

    Like

  14. Excellent idea 🙂 I sometimes forget that crafting is supposed to be fun!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

