A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – A whole lotta latte #7

35 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs and A whole lotta latte is growing nicely.

This is how it looked last time. I’d made a decent start on the purple cup by doing some of the orange and green swirly patterns that are on it plus the steam.

The plan was to carry on with that cup as far as the end of page one, and then make a start on the cup on the other side. I think I managed that nicely.

This is the purple cup now.


There’s still quite a lot of cup to do but that’s all there is on the first page and I want to finish that page off before moving down any further as I’ll also need to move the fabric round on the scroll frame.

I’m quite pleased with how much I got done on the other cup too.


I just need to do a bit more on that to get to the bottom of the page.

This is what it all looks like now.

I’ve just got to finish that bit of cup and do the backstitch and then scroll round and carry on down the second page. I feel as if I’m really getting somewhere now.

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

AvisClaireGunLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristina Kathy,
 MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherine,  WendyMary MargaretTimothy

Look how many of us there are now! Do allow for people being in different time zones, so not posting all at the same time, but it’s well worth doing a bit of blog hopping to see all the lovely projects that are being worked on.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

35 thoughts on “SAL – A whole lotta latte #7

  1. You’re speeding ahead on this! It looks great

    Like

  2. Looking great! Love the bright colors on the black fabric.

    Like

  3. I like the way it´s growing! Excited to see the rest of your embroidery!

    Like

  4. great progress – love to see these bright colours on the black. I have some ready for a future project but so far I have never stitched on black.

    Like

  5. Wow, suddenly you have a lot more coverage. It’s looking fabulous.

    Like

  6. Carole you got a ton done!

    Like

  7. This looks amazing. The black makes the stitching look so 3d

    Like

  8. Great progress Carole! I enjoy seeing the progress and the design unfold 🙂

    Like

  9. Love the colours on the black, it fascinates me how you have several threads on the go at once, I’ve never tried this, I’m sure I’d get them all tangled!

    Like

    • The reason there are several loose threads is that I wanted to finish the first page before moving on to the page below. Rather than finish threads off, if the colour carries on to the next page, I’ve left it there to start stitching with it on page two when I get to that. It’s easier than switching between pages.
      Sometimes I’ve done this on other projects when I’ve carried threads further down and wanted to stitch other colours before carrying on with them. To stop them getting tangled, I just wind them round two fingers and fasten the bundle with a small hair clip, or use a hair clip to secure the to the edge of the fabric.

      Like

  10. You are making great progress. I love the colors on the black.

    Like

  11. I really do love this piece! How do you find working on the black Aida? I have a piece I haven’t touched for years, and one of the reasons was I found working on the black so difficult. But my next silk shading piece is on black so I’m going to have to get over it!

    Like

    • I actually swapped the Aida for some nice evenweave as I prefer the look of it and I’m used to stitching on evenweaves now. I’ve got a good magnifying lamp above the work, plus a small, lightweight inspection lamp on my lap that shines up through the holes.
      As long as there’s enough light to see the holes, it isn’t too bad and I’m finding it a lot easier now than I was to start with so I must be getting used to it more.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Looks great! I’m loving all the bright colours too.

    Like

  13. Just gorgeous! And what a lot you got done this time.

    Like

  14. This is such a fun piece! I love those bright colors, they are so cheerful!

    Like

  15. colours pop so well on your dark fabric – I’m loving seeing this take shape

    Like

  16. Coming along nicely, looks great

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

