A slight obsession with books

Reading and Fibrecrafts

SAL – A whole lotta latte #8

35 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs and A whole lotta latte is onto page two now.

This is how it looked last time.

It didn’t take too long to finish off the rest of page one, complete with backstitch.

At this point, it was ready to scroll the fabric round a bit. I just did one turn as I find it easier to work at the bottom of the fabric as my arms get tired if I have to stretch to the top half.

I have done a little more to it since,  but haven’t had time to take a photo. For the amount I’ve done, it’s probably not worth it to be honest. I keep meaning to get the cross stitch out of an evening but I had the bright idea of re-reading one of my favourite sci-fantasy book series and I’m completely engrossed in it. It’s a 14 book series and the books are definitely on the chunky side. I may be some time yet as I’m currently on book five, so don’t expect too much from the next update either 😉

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

AvisClaireGunLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristina Kathy,
 MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherine,  WendyMary MargaretTimothy

Look how many of us there are now! Do allow for people being in different time zones, so not posting all at the same time, but it’s well worth doing a bit of blog hopping to see all the lovely projects that are being worked on.

SaveSave

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

35 thoughts on “SAL – A whole lotta latte #8

  1. So beautiful! I love how the colors pop on the black fabric!

    Like

  2. I really love the colors you are using on the black background. It looks beautiful

    Like

  3. Great progress, love the colours

    Like

  4. Hehe. I guessed wheel of time as soon as you said 14 book series.
    I’m loving the cross stitch still. How many mugs are there in total?

    Like

    • Still to go are the two that I’m working on, plus their saucers, and one more larger cup & saucer that they’re balanced on. Then there’s just the text at the bottom. Doesn’t sound much when you say it fast, does it LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  5. As long as you are doing a little stitching it will keep growing and sometimes you do just need a change, so enjoy your reading while that’s what you are wanting to do.

    Like

    • I usually have at least one book on the go, usually two or three, but it’s not often that I find myself wanting to read 24/7 as I am at the moment. I’d forgotten just how good this series is. I will show some restraint though and get on with some stitching. I have a horror of not having anything to show at the next update LOL

      Like

  6. I know how good books can get in the way of everything else. The best part is when they’re good enough to warrant re-reading!

    Like

  7. I love the purple and orange cup. All progress however small is good.

    Like

  8. Like Kate, I listen to audio books as I stitch. Enjoy your sci-fi catch up 🙂

    Like

    • I listen to audio when I crochet and if I’m stitching something that doesn’t require too much counting, but this takes a bit too much concentration.

      Like

  9. I did a day of reading to get caught up a bit. It is hard to choose between reading a book or stitching, etc.! 😄 this is still coming along very nice and steady though.

    Like

    • There just aren’t enough hours sometimes. Last night I fell asleep reading and woke up an hour later, sitting up in bed, still clutching my book. I didn’t even lose my page LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve done that! My current read is not that riveting, yet, anyway. I am going to get through some Plutarch so I better understand Girl#2’s college experience. I can check it off as a good for me to read non fluff title.😉

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I do like the green and pink cupper! Two of my favorite colors!!!

    Like

  11. It’s coming along very nicely! Such a happy piece. And we all get distracted by other things, just enjoy what you are doing at the time!

    Like

  12. this piece is so bright, I love it!

    Like

  13. Love the colours for the new cup! I’ve discovered the way to get the favourite books in while I stitch: audio books on my laptop!

    Like

  14. Fantastic progress, love the colours

    Like

  15. Excelletn stichy job, I just love how those colours pop against the black fabric 😀

    Like

  16. Ooh what are you reading?

    Like

    • Robert Jordan’s The wheel of time series. I’ve just started book six which is a chunky 1010 pages.
      The books are really detailed with believable characters and a complex storyline. I love them.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

