A slight obsession with books

Crafts, cats and books

CAL – Last dance on the beach #16

39 Comments

This is the scheduled three-weekly post for the SAL that I’m doing with several other crafty blogs. As I’m struggling to find time to do any cross stitch, plus keep up with all the crochet that I’m doing, I’m going to use these posts for the Last Dance on the beach blankets. That’ll make sure that I finish them, and then I can get back to some stitching.

Blanket one is finished! Dance under the stars.

The joining took forever so I was happy to finish that. I’m trying not to think about the next blanket that’s waiting to be joined. I’m also happy that I managed to get all the squares the right way up.

It’s very soft and squishy. I really liked the Scheepjes yarn. It’s lovely to hook with and feels beautiful. It’s going to be great to snuggle under.

The border was supposed to be a bit wider but I liked how it looked after five rounds so decided to stop there.

I’m now debating whether to carry straight on with the other blanket or maybe do some cross stitch. Maybe I’ll surprise you next update LOL

For the stitch-a-long I’m linking up to these lovely blogs:

AvisClaireGunLucyAnnKateJessSueConstanzeDebbieroseChristinaSusan,
 Kathy MargaretCindyHelenStephLindaCatherine,  Wendy

Not everyone does an update each time, but their blogs are always worth a visit.

Author: Carole

The books I read, the things I make, the places I go.

39 thoughts on “CAL – Last dance on the beach #16

  1. Your blanket looks great! I really like how it turned out. I’m sure it feels great to have it done

    Like

  2. Well done, that’s a massive achievement! It looks great…

    Like

  3. Your blanket turned out great! I combined the Stars and Beach kits to make a queen sized blanket and I also made the border narrower. I got my blanket finished just in time for cold Illinois winter weather and we’re still using on our bed, especially since we have snow coming tonight and tomorrow.

    Like

  4. I really love this blanket. It would be so perfect for our camp up in the Adirondacks. Great job!

    Like

  5. I had no idea you could get such great patterns with crochet! It looks fabulous.

    Like

  6. Wow! What a beauty! I love the is one because it looks like a quilt with lots of different fabrics, only in wool. The narrow border also fits with that theme as it looks like a quilt binding. That’s what it does for me anyway 🙂

    Like

  7. Congrats! I love all the different texture.

    Like

  8. Congrats on the finish! 🙂

    Like

  9. Congrats on the finish. It looks very warm and snuggly.

    Like

  10. Happy dancing absolutely!!!!!! The blanket is gorgeous!

    Like

  11. This has been an inspiring project! Thinking about your blankets, I was hunting a knit along sampler last night. The finish is beautiful, I’m looking forward to seeing rain when you finish it.

    Like

  12. The textures are amazing and the way that you put them together really compliments and showcases each square so well. The number of different stitches and techniques used really shows off your crochet skills! Beautiful!

    Like

  13. That is GORGEOUS. I do see what you mean about standing on a stepladder to take the photo, it’s the only way to get it all in, isn’t it?

    Like

  14. so many gorgeous colours and textures with all the different stitches – well done!

    Like

  15. Awesome, wll done! It looks so soft and snuggly!

    Like

  16. Beautiful finish. Love all the bright colors.

    Like

  17. Fantastic finish, the colours are great. It looks snug & warm.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment - I love to read them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.